Slide hammer seal removal

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
A recent thread on seal removal motivated me to put together this post. It helped that I recently got a basic camcorder but I'm still learning its ins and outs.

Here are the tools I use:

Slide hammer, etc.jpg

I like the control the stubby hammer provides. The slide hammer is from HF, hard for them to screw up something so basic. The screw is the oft recommended sheetrock screw. I usually toss them after 1 or 2 uses - you want the first 1/4 inch of threads to be sharp.

The video shows the PTO side, but the FW side is done similarly. I did a video of that removal as well, but my video skills (or lack thereof) left something to be desired in keeping the work area in the field of view.

Although I still would love to own a Stihl seal puller 'cause they're just so darn sexy, with this method I no longer have any apprehension about removing seals. The hardest part is keeping the screw in the puller while operating the the slide - I'm a bit of a klutz at times as the vid demonstrates.

(Edit: Attempt (successful, I hope) to reload video.)

I use that same HF slide hammer for pulling seals. For the really small seals that don't have much meat to get into with a screw, I tried modifying the small rounded single hook in the slide hammer set. Ground most of the rounded area away. Got it shaped just right to get under the metal lip of the seal body................and promptly busted the hook right off with the first pulling attempt. The metal that hook was made from just couldn't hold up when ground down that thin. Oh well. The 'slotted hook' end still works fine with a sheetrock screw. I'm still experimenting with homebrew attachments for the slidehammer for use with those small/thin seals.