Stihl 090 for milling.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

albator

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello,

This is my first post, and I am excited to join the community. I am only a wannabe lumberjack, so I hope you'll be patient with me. ;-)
You guys are all very knowledgeable, I am afraid it will take me some time before I can contribute myself and help others, but I will get there someday!

I live in California, in the Santa Cruz mountains, on a 8.5 acre forested land. I am originally from France, been here exactly 10 years. I am a volunteer firefighter and I love building and fixing things.

I have had an ms362 since it came out in 2009. My first saw, bought it new and I love it. I heat with wood, so I use it a lot for felling and bucking. But I am not a pro.

Now, I have 5 pine trees, quite straight, that I don't need for firewood, so I thought of milling them to build a chicken coop and a wood shed and a tool shed.

I am buying an Alaskan 36 mill, cheapest price is on Baileys. With the long aluminum rails for the first cut. But my 362 is too small for that job from what I read here. So I went looking for a bigger saw. Came across this guy selling a bunch of saws from former his business. There were some fancy 084 and 880 and 066, but I thought an old 090 would be better, because I don't need the comfort features and it was cheaper. I won't use it to fell or buck, only to mill, so I don't need the chain break or AV or lighter weight. Is that correct? Should I have bought something more recent?

So I bought those yesterday:
. Stihl 090, came with old 36 bar and good cutting chain
. An extra stihl 41 bar, excellent condition
. A small 017 for my fiancée, or for smaller tasks. Much lighter than the 362. Came with 14 inch bar and chain