Unrealistic and misleading Chainsaw reviews.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wow

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
received_410704846467756.jpeg So I had some time off, got bored and decided to check out some Chainsaw reviews.
I disagreed with a high percentage of what I read, but that's opinion.
However one review that caught my eye was the biggest Worx Electric Chainsaw. So I ordered one.
I studied Electrical Engineering but you don't need a degree to know that anything that draws 12 or 15 amps is going to require a #10/3 or maybe a #12/3 extension cord and the maximum of 100 feet long very limited and cut time heats things heat up.
The saw arrived and looks ok. It's heavy and big compared to my other electric. I dragged a small oak up to the house with my tractor and began cutting it up. The saw worked pretty good at blocking but I wasn't impressed. I guess it's okay but after using Gas Saws I have a hard time with a review that states it's a Good Firewood saw. No its not. Wanna cut firewood you need a Gas Saw. Unless you really don't heat your house with firewood and think half a cord is firewood. A good light, powerful 50cc saw like an Echo cs490 IS a minimal GOOD firewood imho. I'd choose my Echo cs352 over an Electric Chainsaw. But my jaw really dropped when the review said the small Worx sold here by Wallyworld is a good firewood saw. I looked at one and it's not impressive. Cost just under 50 bucks till taxes. The information they give made it seem to have an automatic oiler. Nope, it's the primer bulb on the oil cap type. I may be lazy at over 70 but my days of pushing an oiler with my thumb while I cut are behind me.