Using a 2-speed rear axle

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kaptain_K

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Sorry for this stupid question but I've never used a 2-speed axle before.
Do I need to use low/high sequence all the way up and down the gearing?

It confuses my brain to follow the instructions mounted on the dash:"When going from low to high, shift axle first, then trans....and when going from high to low, shift trans first, then axle(or maybe it's opposite, like i said it confuses me). Instead I've just been using HIGH 2-3-4-5 when empty and on the Interstate, and LOW 1-2-3-4-5 when loaded...and then I'll put it into HIGH-5 if on the Interstate. Seems to work fine. Good enough?
thanks!
Kapn K

When your running empty you shouldn't have to "split" the gears. First and second you probably don't have to worry about splitting unless you have a HEAVY load on. When your about to shift into 3rd (or in the process of shifting, depends on if you have a vacuum operated or electric 2-speed rear) push the splitter button down and continue shifting into 3rd, now your in 3-low. Build your RPMS back up and let off the gas at the same time you pull the splitter button up. Now your in 3 high. You don't need to use the clutch for this part. You'll hear some grinding in the rear end, that's ok. Once you get used to the truck you'll be able to time it better so it doesn't grind as long. Keep re-peating the same process until into fifth.