Notch or not

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JAckal

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello,
I am new here. My experience is from reading and info on here. Your information that showed up in my search was excellent.

The question is: I have been around chainsaws for about 3 years. I always try to use a Humbolt notch on every tree that is cut. Only 15-20 trees have been dropped by my saws.

My father-in-law insists that I am wasting time by notching trees. I have seen him fell oak trees that are 20+" in diameter by about 40' tall. He never notches, just cuts 'til the bar starts to pinch goes to the other side and starts cutting through with pressure from his shoulder to push it off.

I am a machinist by trade 23+ years, BIG equipment. This seems scary as hell to me.

Give me your opinions. From the search that I did on this site I am sure the majority will agree with me.

No, he won't see your replys either.

Thanks,
JAckal

Welcome to AS, first off!

I can only say it's a wonder he hasn't gotten killed by this practice! There are so many things that can go wrong with this practice I can't even begin to list them, I am sure others will!!!
Without some relief on the front side you have no control of where the tree is going, or what it will do while getting there! I used to use practice on small 10"-12" White Oaks trees, cut all the way then "force fall" it the rest of the way. I had a couple of them barberchair, split down the middle and half of it came back at me. Now no matter the size of the tree I cut some type of relief on the front side, be it a notch or just a scarf cut.
I am truely amazed a tree has never set down on his saw and teetered!! I had this happen once also! I cut a notch, but not big enough, the tree set back and just teeterd in the wind! Not a good place to be!!! Be careful, and don't follow his example!!!