New Guy Extra Green

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MAKEITOUTOFWOOD

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Wanted to introduce myself, Ive been lurking for about 3 weeks. I am a cabinet maker & all around woodworker by profession but I have become abscessed with woodturning. I turn a lot of green wood.

Well this love affair with turning green wood has led me down paths I never thought I'd be heading down. For 1 I never thought I'd be addicted to reading about chainsaws, although I am a tool and machinery enthusiast. Ive had to learn how to maintain my saw and keep the chain sharp. In doing so I have really learned to appropriate my saw as another tool in my arsenal.

I am currently running my father's old Homelite Super XL with a 20" bar & chain. I used this saw growing up to cut fire wood. I now want to upgrade to a pro level saw. From all the reading and research I've done I am thinking I will need at least a 60cc saw. I will be almost entirely bucking and noodling with this saw and would like a 20" bar & chain.

I have narrowed my choices to 361, 357, 6400 but am willing to hear any recommendations. I am going with the 1 saw plan at least for now. Also I have dealers for these 3 saws all within 20 miles. I want to try and keep my purchase under $500.00 so I have been looking for used.

I still have a great deal to learn and thank the members here for all there contributions. This is a great site. One I never in my life thought I'd be joining but am happy to be very green JR member.

:givebeer:
Mike

Welcome, there was a nice never been in wood 361 in the trading post forum. You can't go wrong with that saw in the 60cc class. We'd love to see pictures of some of your turned products!