Sharpening Chisel Chain

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Amos

Reaction score
Today I was talking to the guy who took the chainsaw course I just completed and we were talking about chisel chain. He told me that the chain we had used during the course was 3/8" square chisel chain. During the course we had sharpened the chains quite a lot of times with no problem and it cut VERY fast after each sharpen. Then just yesterday I was looking at saw chains on a saw shop's (in the PNW) web site and it said that square chisel chain is very hard (if not impossible) to sharpen with a file and that if you are going to run it you should buy a grinder. The guy that took my course very much disagrees with that and says it is a sales pitch. I am new to sharpening saws and like I said I had no trouble sharpening the chain with a round file and it cut great. What is your opinion? Is it a sales pitch or has the guy somehow made a mistake on the type of chain we were using? Thanks :confused:

The difference is probably between round-filing square tooth chain (Easy with practice) and square-filing square tooth chain (difficult to master from what I've heard and I don't doubt it)

Art Martin is the guy to go to on this one. It takes years of practice to square file well. It may come down to a case where it's relatively easy to get reasonable results from round filing, but if you want the best, square filing is the only way to go. It could also be that an inexperienced square filer can make the chain cut worse than if he filed it with a round file.

Last edited:
What file did you use in the class? probably a round file. That is what 99% of us hacks use. Square filing takes a little patience and dedication

If you used a round file with good results I'd be 99.9% sure you were using regular, round-filed chisel chain.