What's the best chain?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BryanSchamber

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
OK guys I'm fairly new to AS so take it easy on me. Had a Question. Working on cleaning up a couple of logged out woods that have red oak,white oak, wild cherry and some ash in them. I'm running an 025 with a 23RC chain and a ms361 with 30RC chain from Bailey's. These chains are great for the money. Are there any better recommendations that would suit my need. The only downfall is occasionally getting in to some dirt which trashes them out quick. I got a couple of stihl chipper chains when I bought my 361 a couple months ago,not real impressed with them. I like to have pile of chips covering the ground when I'm cutting. There's nothing like chunking some quaility oak to feed the Heatmor. Thanks for the advice.

OILOMATIC® STIHL RAPID™ Super Comfort (RSC)
I have found it to be the best work chain you can buy right out of the box. Period

Bailey's rc chains are more than decent, Stihl is the best chain though. Look for some semi chisel chains, not as fast cutting as chisel (rc) but better at staying sharp. The best thing is to keep your chain from hitting the ground.

I'll throw a spanner in the works... CARLTON SEMI CHISEL.
Its been used/tested in dirty Aussie hard woods by a number of people and come out on top alongside Windsor. That means its shown to be tougher than Stihl, Oregon etc etc (in our somewhat harsh conditions anyway). In green wood I've found no real noticable difference between Carlton full chisel and Oregon LGX.
Not sure about the US but Carlton is also waaaaay cheaper than Stihl chain in Australia. About 30% per DL at least from dealers.

Also check what brand of saws the people own that are recommending Stihl chain! :popcorn:

Except Sawtroll, he's cool :)

Last edited:
I'll throw a spanner in the works... CARLTON SEMI CHISEL.