Chain cuts well, sometimes

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

billtheconqueror

Reaction score
Someone gave me an older Stihl 025. I replaced the carb on it, fuel filter, air filter and it is running well.

I sharpened the chain (I am still learning to do this, but I've done it "successfully" with a couple other saws I have) (by "successfully" I mean that it cut much better afterwards than before I sharpened them. In other words, I'm a newbie).

When I tested the Stihl 025 on a couple logs I have in the yard, it would cut well (and pull itself into the log) sometimes, but occasionally (3 or 4 time on a 10-inch diameter log) it would seem to not cut at all or very little, like it was just going to try to burn through. Then it would pick up again and cut well. Does anybody know what this might point to?

Thanks for any advice!

Any change in how the motor's running when this happens? Could throw a new chain on and see what that does. Might help if you post close up pics of the chain in question.

Any change in how the motor's running when this happens? Could throw a new chain on and see what that does. Might help if you post close up pics of the chain in question.

Here are a couple close-ups. I didn't notice the engine running any different during those times.

Attachments

• chainsaw_1.jpeg
    chainsaw_1.jpeg
    3 MB · Views: 2
  • chainsaw_2.jpeg
    chainsaw_2.jpeg
    3.5 MB · Views: 2
Here are a couple close-ups. I didn't notice the engine running any different during those times.
That bar needs to be, at least, dressed. I suspect that it is worn out. clean up the bar and get out your feeler gauges to measure the width of the slot and compare it to the gauge on the bar. An .063" gauge bar slot should measure about .065" when new. The other thing to look at is how "floppy" the chain is side to side.