260 oiler...vs. 260 pro adjustable

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

guff

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
atlanta georgia..formerly from massena, new york
:blob2: here's the problem...my friend bought the 260 pro, and i bought the 260. he has the adjustable oiler and is trying to convince me to have one installed for about $45.00.....i'm new to this game and i can't help feeling that it would be a good idea.....what i want to know is how mine works, as compared to his and why i should leave mine the way it came......or not??

I own a 260Pro which I bought slightly used for a great price. Otherwise I would have bought the 260.

Besides the fixed jet carb which gave me fits for a few months until I finally got it jetted right, the only issue I have with the 260Pro is the oiler. I have taken it apart and thoroughly cleaned it 3 different times in the last year. I leave it set wide open and it still doesn't oil enough half the time. I spoke with one of the pro saw builders from this site (DozerDan) and he recommended installing the fixed oiler from the 260. He had done this on several 260Pro's with faulty oilers and said it was a weak design.

Stick with the fixed oiler. It is dependable and you will always have enough oil. As a pro climber, I have rarely ever adjusted an oiler on any saw after getting it set the first day or two.

Don't let your friend talk you into a fixed jet 'Intellicarb' either. There are more than a few threads on that topic here.

Ignore my last post

Sorry, ignore everything above. Here's the deal- I'll sell you an adjustable oiler for an 026Pro for $20 and the fixed oiler from your 026. It's only a year old and has had nothing but Stihl bar oil run through it. It's been removed and cleaned every 3 months, too!

I would like some clarification on a couple of points regarding this 026/MS260 stuff.