359 Muffler Mod

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dgfitz

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I purchaesd a new Husky 359 a couple of months ago and
noticed that it really got hot around the forward handle grip
above the muffler after a few minutes use. Friend of mine suggested
changing out the muffler to an earlier non-epa type,which I did, and
readjusted the carb after getting past the limiters,I just cut the tabs
down and richened up the mix just a bit. Easy job, took about fifteen
minutes total, and the power differance is far superior. Got the muffler
from Bailey's. The engine runs much cooler now, along with the added power.
For those not terribly mechanically inclined, it really is a no brainer to
do, I am a musician by trade and even I managed the change out.

mods

Welcome aboard!Check out muff mods in search.You will even get better performance run cooler more HP.But it will get a lot louder!
Ed

You said you got the muffler from Baileys...I called them last week and all the mufflers they had for the 359 were the catalytic mufflers. Husky/Jred have not made the non-cat muffler available in the States for quite some time.

So my question is: WHO DO YOU KNOW AT BAILEYS????

wood_newbie said:
You said you got the muffler from Baileys...I called them last week and all the mufflers they had for the 359 were the catalytic mufflers. Husky/Jred have not made the non-cat muffler available in the States for quite some time.

I do not know any person there, I ordered part number 50391750101
and they sent it to me about a week and a half later direct from a
Husky wharehouse, not from Bailey's wharehouse.

wood_newbie said:

You want a replacement muffler for a 357XP or pre-E
Tech 359. Gregg Grande is one of Bailey's saw wizards. You can get a hold of him above in the sponsor's forum under Bailey's. Good dude.

dgfitz said:
and