Absolute beginners questions

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CameronH

Reaction score
Hi Members,

I'm not an arborist or a big-time chainsaw user. I have a cheap chainsaw which is a Baumr-AG SX62. These appear to be a cheap Chinese made chainsaw. This Baumr model is sold here in Australia. The saw is a 62cc model. This saw in particular has this code printed on the bar:

BE20-76-5812P

I've found an equivalent model sold in the UK under the Parker Brand.

ZLB20-76-5812P (Parker Brand PCS-6200)

So from my reading of this chainsaws specs I know it's a .325" pitch, 0.058" gauge, 76 drive link chain, 12 tooth. I'm not 100% on the guide bar mount type yet. I need to measure it.

Now for my beginners questions:

I'm looking at some replacement bars. But I don't want the cheap eBay varieties that match the stock bar. From Tornado, Blue Max, Hurricane, Sliner and others.

I'm interested in using a Sugihara, Tsumura, Cannon etc. I know that sounds ridiculous to put an elite bar on a cheap Chinese made saw.

But I've found that most of the 18" and 20" bars in the .325" pitch, 0.058" gauge variety have quite a different chain drive link count.
For example 72 drive links, 78 drive links, 81 drive links etc.

Why are there different drive link counts amongst these brands may I ask please? And what differences does this make? I know the drive link count must match the guide bar specs etc.

Sorry if I'm rambling here but I'm interested in learning what pro grade bars I can get away with for this chainsaw.

Thanks in advance for any tips!