Absolute needs for a new business

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BisonSkinner

Reaction score
Howdy yall
I'm a college student who has a love for chainsaws and wood cutting. Been using a saw for a decade, and falling trees for 5 years. Im trying to start a business surrounding tree removal and trimming to fund my education as a wildlife biologist, but I need to know what are the essentials to start. This includes equipment and gear, educational materials, insurances and bonding, licensing...ect. Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Find the best tree company in your area and get hired on. You will learn more in the first week than you have in the last 10 years, I promise you. I know this isn't the answer you're looking for, but there really is only one way to learn this business, and that is a hands on apprenticeship.

Find the best tree company in your area and get hired on. You will learn more in the first week than you have in the last 10 years, I promise you. I know this isn't the answer you're looking for, but there really is only one way to learn this business, and that is a hands on apprenticeship.
This is a good answer. I wish you the best but this isn't something you really want to learn the hard way. Doing some minor trimming or maybe some smaller removals is one thing. Tangling with the big stuff is something different. And to be honest....you don't even have to take our word for it. I don't mean this in a bad way but.....if you want the job to teach you......don't worry. It will.

Howdy yall