After market stihls

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beastmaster

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I have some old stihls I make my living with and depend on. I'v used a lot of after market parts I get on on-line auctions sites. They seem to work fine, and at a fraction of stihls price.
I need a bigger saw and trying to get a 066 or 064 etc. I'v been shopping for one I can rebuild. I came across these, brand new 066 motors made from all after market parts. From the cases to the cylinders. http://www.ebay.com/itm/STIHL-MS660...116?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1c364b03c4
Any one have any experience with one of these motors? Thanks

Well, I have been happy with the parts I've purchased from that seller but that's a pretty large portion of the saw you're referring to. I think in the future, it will be hard to know how Stihly a saw is vs replaced parts. I just did an 039 with a Hutzl cylinder kit and it's running great but I haven't actually cut wood other than testing. Later this week I may have an opportunity to do something with it.

I actually have the whole knock off 660. I had to replace the carby with a genuine Stihl Walbro to get it to idle properly but nothing wrong with the power - it's right there (or higher) than any stock 660 I've run and I've run a few. The chain tensioner feels a bit notchy and weak but the carby is the only major problem so far. These bottom ends will hold together fine. The compression on this saw is also higher than any 660 I've tested and is 180psi. It feels like it too when you start it.