Alpine Magnum Portable Stump Grinder

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikewhite85

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
I am thinking about purchasing one and am wondering if any of you guys have any experience with them? They don't seem to be real popular but the salesman sure makes them look good.

Seems like you can get pretty deep with them as well which is a huge plus when clients want to replant in the same spot. I've got several Queen Palms that a client wants to replace that are in tight spots. I think the Alpine Magnum would do real well.

If not, what would you recommend for a first stump grinder?

Thanks,
Mike

mike, I don't what to be a buzz kill, but I do not recommend buying this machine. Here's why I bought the alpine cutter. I am a one driver tree service. When I get jobs to take down smaller trees and remove the stump, It takes two trips to complete the work. I thought the alpine cutter would be perfect for me, just throw it in the back of the truck and go. Here's why it did not work for me. The stihl power plant runs great, the machine design was good, the tooth design is terrible. This machine does not run a normal stump tooth, they have designed there own. It looks like a large chainsaw tooth. When you run through dirt and rocks it dulls, just like a saw chain. This tooth has a raker in front, like a chainsaw. Once tip of the tooth is dulled, the raker prevents the tooth from bitting into the stump any more. It took me 2 hours and all of the teeth I hand to remove a 12 inch cherry stump. I'll admit that the ground was rocky, but around here, the ground is always rocky. My machine came with a money back policy. I called the company and told my tale. They said I was doing it wrong, try it again. They said I should used the dull teeth remove the dirt and rocks away from stump, them change to sharp teeth and grind