Another Bullet Biter

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rayvil01

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Every year for the past five years, come winter I've been lusting after a new saw. I've been running a Poulan Pro 375 since I bought it new 15+ years ago. It's still kicking (with a lot of cannibalized parts from an ebay rig.) What I wanted was a saw that was big enough to tackle the big wood I occasionally stumble into, and do a little milling. Every now and then I'll get a piece of wood I'd like to mill.

I've been reading this forum for a few years. The information here is tremendous. Thanks to the kind posters here I learned about Dolmar saws, did some research...and was smitten. Brought home a 7900 yesterday. What a super unit that saw is! I looked at Huskys and Stihls...they're both fine brands. But, this Dolmar won me over with the power, the engineering...and the light weight. I caught the dealer in a Christmas mood, to boot.

I ran one whole tank of gas through it yesterday bucking logs. All I could saw was "Wow!"

So, thanks for all the information. Much appreciated. I do have two questions (at the moment), I have a 24" bar. If I buy the Granberg 24" mill I can cut what width? Bailey's site says it takes a 28" bar to cut 24" with the mill. I'm thinking that means a 24" bar will cut 20"...but, got confused on that along the way. It also appears that one has to drill the bar for that rig. Any tricks to that?

Thanks again,
Rayvil01