another new guy!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

superspiker

Reaction score
Found this site, COOL!

I am new to climbing, and been doing tree work for almost a year.
I have learned a lot watching, and now while climbing I know I need to learn more. I am looking forward to hearing how its done by the real pros.

Greetings, Superspiker! You have a lot of reading ahead of you. This is just one of the books you need to read and understand;

book2.jpg

Do you do much trimming? I ask because of the moniker you've choosen.

Enjoy AS!:blob2:

Go low and slow!!! Take your time and learn to trust your equipment:angel: Welcome to the site!!

thanks guys!
I have done some pruning, but mostly starting out with small removals. I will order the book next payday.

whats a moniker?

Master Blaster is basically asking if you use spikes on crown reductions, I assume. It is very bad practice if you do.

Moniker=nickname

moniker
n : a familiar name for a person (often a shortened version of
a person's given name); "Joe's mother would not use his
nickname and always called him Joseph"; "Henry's nickname
was Slim" [syn: nickname, cognomen, sobriquet, soubriquet]

I am using an old poulan.

Whats wrong with spikes? you guys wear them, right?
And whats a crown reduction? thats not a joke question is it?

Spiker-
You need to stay and hang around here a little (lot?) more! These guys will have you updated in no time at all, if you are willing and keep an open mind...