Any opinions on Bandit HB 19 Stump Grinder

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Frank

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I just bought a brand new Bandit HB 19 self propelled 20 HP walk behind stump grinder. Any feed back from you guys out there on this model. I'm just getting started (part time) grinding stumps.

Congrats, Frank, on your recent purchase. Sounds like a nice unit and you can't go wrong with that Kohler engine.
Try to be as smooth through the cut as possible and put plywood down to help you pivot that 600lb beast.
Enjoy!

ah, good idea on the putting plywood down to pivit machine. Sounds like you may have some expericece on using a walk behind unit? I am starting from scratch. Any other tips?

Frank,

Yes, I still have a small Bluebird walk behind. Actually, I think using a walk behind is a good place to start because it forces you to be smooth and patient while grinding. Any idiot with enough cash can run the high horsepower (50+) machines because the weight and horsepower make up for a lack of skill. That said, this idiot would love to get his hands on the new RG90.

Keep up with the daily maintenance, try to be smooth through the cut, use plywood, attack bigger stumps from several angles, put a small boat winch on the front of your trailer in case you ever have to pull it up manually, make up a tool bag with all the right size sockets and wrenches and zip tie it to the handlebar, lower the cutting head to keep the weight on the stump, go to Sears and buy the right size hex wrench for your tooth bolts and cut a small enough piece off the end to fit into a socket so you can use a ratchet wrench to tighten teeth, do not use an impact wrench-the teeth do NOT need to be that tight and you can stretch the bolts out overtightening.