Any tree trimmers on this forum?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WhiteMike

ArboristSite Member
AS Supporting Member
Reaction score
Curious if anyone on arborist site is employed as a tree trimmer in the U.S. Whether it’s a major company like Asplundh or a smaller mom and pop shop. I’m thinking of leaving my current construction job to start my journey in the world of arboriculture and would like to chat

Yes that’s what I figured. I currently work in the electric power delivery industry and am thinking of pursuing a career in arboriculture. Tree trimmer to lineman is a very common transition but I’m thinking of going the opposite way because I love running a power saw and often do it for fun when I’m off work. Just trying to get a feel for how much people enjoy it if it’s their job. Tree trimmers transition to lineman because of the pay but I don’t care about that. In my area trimmers still make decent money. Do you enjoy it? Start off as a groundman? Do you plan on being a trimmer for a long time or moving to something else? Care if I PM you?

Yes that’s what I figured. I currently work in the electric power delivery industry and am thinking of pursuing a career in arboriculture. Tree trimmer to lineman is a very common transition but I’m thinking of going the opposite way because I love running a power saw and often do it for fun when I’m off work. Just trying to get a feel for how much people enjoy it if it’s their job. Tree trimmers transition to lineman because of the pay but I don’t care about that. In my area trimmers still make decent money. Do you enjoy it? Start off as a groundman? Do you plan on being a trimmer for a long time or moving to something else? Care if I PM you?
I'm retired, but sure, pm me and I'll be happy to talk to you