New from North Carolina seeking battery chainsaw recommendations.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kendalltristan

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello, I'm Kendall from Hendersonville, North Carolina. Professionally I work as a software developer, but I try to get out in the woods to do volunteer trail maintenance at least once or twice each month (sometimes quite a bit more). I have a B chainsaw certification and feel confident working in fairly complex situations. I'll go for C when I feel more confident about the instruction/evaluation side of things. I'm also crosscut certified. Most of the tree work I do is limited to bucking blowdowns and I don't really ever have a need to fell anything.

The trails I maintain are steep and technical. As such, choosing the right tool for the job is often more a function of how much effort it'd take to get the tool and PPE to the work site than it is of how much work there is to do once there. I prefer battery chainsaws over gas due to size, weight, reduced noise, and the lack of a spillage risk, but, often as not, I'll leave the chainsaw and chaps in the car and carry a Silky Katanaboy instead.

I've started to become a little bit of an axe nerd. I've restored and rehung a couple of old heads I picked up at yard sales, which I've since given away. I also like a lot of the newer stuff that I've tried and my current number one is a Tuatahi camp axe on a 24" Hoffman handle. I also have a Hults Bruk Agdor that's fabulous to use, as well as some Council Tool stuff.