Chainsaw Advice for a Beginner

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joed

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I am new to the world of chainsaws but would like to acquire one since I ended up having to rent one on several occasions last year when small tree removal jobs came my way. The saw will not be used everyday but will be used quite a bit in the spring and occasionally during the rest of the year. I have narrowed my choices down to:
Husqvarna 350, 351, 346XP or Stihl 026. I am leaning towards Husqvarna as they seem like a better saw. However, I have heard that the 350 and 351 engines are not commercial grade since they don't have dual piston rings. Is that true? In the opinion of all of you professionals out there, which saw is the best above? Also, do I really need a professional saw for my needs?
Thank You

No, you do not need a commercial saw for your needs. it would be a waste of $$$. To say that Huskys are better than Stihl is impossible, because each makes models that are better than the other's in different classes. I think many will agree that Husqvarna makes a better saw than Stihl $250 - $350 range. The Stihl 025 is a piece of junk, the 026 is nice but runs $450, and the 029 is nothing but a boat anchor. My advice is to get a Husky 55 or a 351. The 55 is a little cheaper and more durable in my opinion. The 351 has less vibration. Good luck and be careful. Oh yeah, either will work best with 18 or 20 inch bars and 34LG Oregon chain

My spin on this is to decide how long you want the saw to last. If you get a commercial unit, it will cost you more, but in the long run it will outlast a residential model. To put it plainly, buy the best saw that you can afford. I am still using a Husky 162SE that my dad bought in 1980, and I have logged (pardon the pun) MANY hours on that machine and it still works great.

Alan