chainsaw milling

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nrobert10

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am new to trying to use a chainsaw for milling. I am using a stihl 066 and have had a few chains ground for ripping. I am ripping dry old growth cedar use a boardmaster. the question i have is, It seems i can only gut about 20 feet or so before the chain goes dull. To me that seems like a chain should stay sharp longer than that. Or do chains really dull that quick. thanks for any help

thank
Rob

Chains should really stay sharp longer than that, especially in a softer wood like cedar. Sure wish I could help you.

Anymore, I do all my ripping with full chisel. Ripping chain is a lot slower, in my experience, but it gives a smoother cut, if you can call a chainsaw cut 'smooth'.

How long a bar are you running, Rob?

Are you sure the chain is dulling? Sometimes with really dry wood, fibers can lay over the cutting edge of the tooth and the teeth don't bite like they should. This can be cured by running a brass brush over the teeth. That cleans em up quick. Inspect closely.

I am running a full chisel skip tooth i have 2 diffirent bars 32 and 24 inch, the chains are ground to i believe 0 degrees, i had the local stihl shop grind them for i will try the brass brush and see if that helps

i am really new at all of this chainsaw milling but i have found a gold mine of wood. i have run across unlimited supply of old dry cedar most anywhere for 18" to 32' in across so i am trying to learn how mill all that down any help would be great

An unlimited supply? You dawg.

One thing you have probably already learned is that milling with a chainsaw is hard work, very dusty and rough on the saw, especially the bar if the chain is not super sharp.