Chimney help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woodchipper95

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Haven't been on in a long time! I bought a house a 6ac and I need to put a chimney up. Just going to do a basic through the block basement wall since the 'crock' is already there. Have a hearthstone Phoenix that I picked up for $300. What are the pieces needed also what brand/model pipe should I use. Has t111 siding shingle roof. The wood stove will be going on the left side of the house when looking at the picture. 8e84a4303d11ef27055a927e257bb006l-m0xd-w1020_h770_q80.jpg

First I have no knowledge of the US stove flue regs.& have no doubt the French ones are quite different The essential with all wood/multi fuel stoves is the longer the run of flue you keep indoors the less heat you lose & if single skin flue is OK/legal to use even better If you are allowed to keep all the flue inside & exit through the roof your heat loss will be greatly reduced than by exiting the building & positioning the flue up the outside of the wall All depends whats legal I guess

The only thing we really have to go by is the picture - and based on that I am thinking I would want the stove as in the middle of the house as I could get it, since it has a long narrow configuration. I would likely just go to the local building supply place, they should be able to set you up based on measurements you take them & what they have. Prefab insulated stainless chimney piping & components is fairly standard stuff.

Not sure what exactly a 'crock' is though.