Couple Wild Thing questions

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dave76

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Mine showed up today and it is completely appart already. I got a 2375LE, has a WT662 carb on it, any good??? If not whats a better carb to get? Also what shape should the exhaust port look like after porting? Do I open it up to the size of the port exit? I also already heated and unfolded the muffler and pulled the baffle, and can size screen, welded up the old exhaust exit, now how big an opening should I drill into the front? Also does anything need to be done to the transfers? I'm new to porting so the skill isn't there. P&C look awsome for a wildthing BTW. Got it for $25, I'm doing this to have fun. Thanks Guys

I guess no one wants to give up any secrets. Lol

Mine showed up today and it is completely appart already. I got a 2375LE, has a WT662 carb on it, any good??? If not whats a better carb to get? Also what shape should the exhaust port look like after porting? Do I open it up to the size of the port exit? I also already heated and unfolded the muffler and pulled the baffle, and can size screen, welded up the old exhaust exit, now how big an opening should I drill into the front? Also does anything need to be done to the transfers? I'm new to porting so the skill isn't there. P&C look awsome for a wildthing BTW. Got it for $25, I'm doing this to have fun. Thanks Guys

The carb will probably flow as much as the engine will.
The true test is to put it back together after you finish porting it and run it in some wood.
The exhaust port should look like a football field with the corners rounded off.
You SHOULD leave a good lead in for the rings so as not to catch one.
Catching a ring on a port edge at 12,000 RPMs gets UGLY quickly.
For now, go wider but not taller. 65-70% of bore diameter is the generally accepted rule of thumb on port width.