Csm

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clintb

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
A little more progress on my experiment. I'm thinking about making a cart at the other end of the bed with a 5hp engine driving a 10 or 12" circular saw blade. I'm thinking of cutting a slab off with the chain and then make either 2 or 4" cuts spaced for the boards that I want, then cut off with chain. Will a 5 hp run a 10" blade or maybe 2?

Interesting... you are going to rip the boards to width down the log, and THEN come along with the csm and slice them off, making several boards at once? Do I have that correct? As for whether a 5HP will run a 10 or 12 inch blade, sure if it's geared correctly. Most 10" cabinet table saws are only 2 or 3 HP motors, and they can rip 3 inch thick no problem with a good quality sharp blade.

I have no experience milling lumber,but that's what i'm thinking, either cutting 2" or 4" deep and then cutting them off with the chain. That way I won't have to roll the log and try to keep it square.

clintb said:
I have no experience milling lumber,but that's what i'm thinking, either cutting 2" or 4" deep and then cutting them off with the chain. That way I won't have to roll the log and try to keep it square.
I guess I'm not quite understanding what exactly you are planning on doing here. Why would what you are doing keep you from "rolling the log to keep it square"?

I am really not the person to offer advice on this...so i wont. I just wanted to say I have no idea what you are planning on doing with that, but if you built that, it is really cool. I assume that the blade glides along the rails much like a band saw mill. is that correct? good luck. wish i could help more