Cutting Paper Rolls?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sharpguy

Reaction score
I'm a professional sharpener. I sharpen everything from tree company chipper blades to barber's straight razors.

We recently acquired a commercial sharpening client who cuts large rolls of kraft-type brown paper.

They use a 60" loop of .404 chain on a remote controlled mechanical arm. The roll of paper lies in a roller bed and rotates as the chain cuts from the outside toward the middle of the roll.

We have been experimenting with different top plate and side plate angles trying to find the most effective combination of angles for this application.

Obviously, the hard brown paper rolls have very little in common with green timber. They are very hard and dense and the paper fiber dust tends to clog the cutters and reduce the flexibility of the chain.

We tried creating "spur chains" by cutting off the top plates of the cutters on several chains and sharpening only the side plates, but this did not produce significantly better results.

I spoke with tech guys from Stihl and Oregon and got conflicting advice. One said go with a rip chain with a 10 degree top plate angle, the other said go with a 25 degree top plate and 25 degree side plate angle.

So far it seems that the 25/25 combination is giving the highest number of cuts per chain, but I'm not sure we have truly reached the best solution for the client.

Does anyone have experience with this type of sharpening application?

Thanks in advance,

Mark Peterson
Superior Sharpening Services

HolmenTree should be able to help you out but I think he's banned at the minute.

Read the later parts of this thread for a little more info.