fell out of tree

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tzelmet

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I fell 10 feet on a descent from a white pine when my rope creeped out of the crotch and the limb broke. I was lucky! and no broken bones. My wrist was severely strained and is just now almost fully recovered. I was alone when I fell. My crew of seven men were in the front yard of the jobsite. Despite the pain and my state of mind, I decided to abruptly climb another tree. Jump right back on the horse so to speak. I managed to finish the climb and prune a few limbs.
The pain of physical therapy is something I wish on no-one.
Of course it has changed me forever.
I am a professional climber and I know that despite our best efforts, things go wrong. I am only posting this as another testament to safety.

The most important things I learned from this are:
1. I had no time to react. I remember feeling the drop and next thing I know I'm on the ground.
2. I've been around and been hit by some pretty big things and guys, but never have I been hit as hard as when I hit the ground.
3.Ever since, I don't take chances on my tie in. If there is any doubt in my mind as to the strength or integrity of the limb, I find another crotch and Now, always around the main trunk.

Another note on safety, We were doing a really big takedown last thursday and as we were bucking the trunk on the ground we started hearing a cracking noise from somewhere above. Hard to hear over a chainsaw. Fortunately, we were some distance from the widow maker that came down. It was a large limb however and could have been lethal. It was at least 30 minutes or more after felling the trunk before this limb fell. Anyway, my point is be ready for anything and always remain alert.