Flow of Air in a Chainsaw and Porting

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Farmer_Nate

Better Saws are Better...and Gut that Muffler!
AS Supporting Member
Reaction score
I am new at wrenching on saws. I am researching a lot about building and of course about modding.

Porting:

A lot of porting posts talk about "helping flow" or "smoothing flow" or "flowing more air". I wonder if flow is supersonic or subsonic in the engine? I'd expect exhaust at least to be supersonic. If that is the case, the rules kinda change, don't they? I don't think most people consider that.

I've never considered this before tho I'm not sure how it would effect air flow.

To be supersonic that air would have to be moving at over 768mph and I assume like a gun shot you would get a supersonic crack which you don't in a chainsaw or any engine.

Good point about the sonic wave. I need to read more at the library.

I wonder what makes all of that exhaust noise? High pressure going to low pressure abruptly, I guess causes a wave? "Uncorking" the exhaust, like popping the cork on a bottle of bubbly.

Nate

Good point about the sonic wave. I need to read more at the library.

I wonder what makes all of that exhaust noise? High pressure going to low pressure abruptly, I guess causes a wave? "Uncorking" the exhaust, like popping the cork on a bottle of bubbly.

Nate