Germinating Hickory Nuts

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Marshy

285 Killa
Reaction score
Hi guys, I have a nice healthy hickory tree up the road (Carya ovata I believe) and thought it would be nice one day to have some of my own. I gathered some nuts and brought them home to attempt germinating my own saplings and hopefully planting them in the future. Can anyone offer some suggestions or source for reading material on this? Im new to germinating trees but not normal garden veggies. Without researching anything I surmise it will be similar. Any help would be appreciated.

One concern I have though is the soil type on my property that I want to seed. The location I have available currently has a lot of healthy Ash that is between 6-14" diameter gowth. Soil is very loomy and rich dark soil that is normally on the wet side all year. There is gradient that carries water down to a surface stream and small ridges and vallies (3-4 ft) to offer some higher ground. I had a DEC forester come walk my property and he said the density it very ideal. The unfortunate thing is the seemingly high probability that the Ash will become unhealth and have to be removed. I figured since good hardwoods take so damn long to grow I would start sooner than later. Not familar with hickory and its liking to loomy soil but I thought I would give it a try. Would I be better trying some sort of oak? I could probably gather some photos once the leaves and vegitation dies down in a month or so... thoughts?