Green Spruce Blues

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

treeseer

Advocatus Pro Arbora
Reaction score
Colleagues,

I am not a spruce expert so I am looking for help. I was deadwooding this tree, which looked fine from below. About 40' up, the trunk looked like the attached. No foliar symptoms. Blister rust? Canker? Any potential treatments? The tree is a relative's so we are open to experimental applications.

Guy, I'm not sure what is going on there with your spruce. What species is it? You said green spruce, but that is a common name, although not very common, for Picea pungens. The needles look like a Norway spruce, Picea abies, but as the trunk is invisible due to the resin...I'm not sure. You said you couldn't see any injury, insect activity, foliar symptoms, etc. (Just confirming)

If a Norway, the following link had some interesting and potentially relevant facts on how Cytospora canker exhibits on this species.

http://ag.udel.edu/extension/horticulture/pdf/pp/pp-09.pdf

Particularly interesting to me is the fact that this disease can start at the top (although much more common to start at the bottom with visible foliar dieback) and the cankers are not always visible (on Norways) with the comment about "bluish-white resin" being significant. Fresh resin from an active infection is an amber color.

It would be interesting to see from where the resin originates on your tree.

David's carefully formulated WAG was this may denote a possible stress fracture from a wind event. We have seen that on spruces here. Of course, then this opens an infection court...

Keep us posted on other findings.

Sylvia

thanks syl

Cannot open link now but first I've heard of it starting high up

Davids theory interesting

Will check it out when I reclimb it in a month

Cytospora has been treated with cambistat and phosphite

Mixed results