Greenhorn question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lugnutz

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Ok guys, first off Merry Christmas. I'm in my 2nd year of heating with wood so I'm still learning about the whole process.

Is it common when the winds are very high ( 30+ since yesterday afternoon ) that a stove just won't burn worth a hoot? My stove sits outside without a housing around it, wonder how that effects things compared to a OWB within an enclosure or a woodstove inside a house? Normally I have the draft control opened halfway at max, lastnight and one other windy night I had the stove running almost wide open ( wich concerns me cause what if the wind stops in the middle of the night and its packed with oak and hedge ) just to get it to consume some well aged elm rounds.

Any opinions will be appreciated greatly.

Thanks, Rick

RE-READ IT! Figure I'll put a pic in so you can see I don't have a indoor stove sittin outside as it sounded in my post. No housing around the draft control is what I was trying to get at.

DSCF0031.jpg

I have never seen a set-up like you have. How do you stop from losing your heat through those uninsulated pipes? Maybe your winters are a little different where you live, but I would have a tough time with what you have shown up here in Michigan. As for the draft, I'm guessing that your stove is made to be inside and not subjected to the wind you are talking about. You might have to build an enclosure (or maybe put it in you garage).

The stove is an outdoor unit. The uninsulated ducting you see is for the cold air return.

DSCF0030.jpg

The stove is insulated very well, as a matter of fact it has snow sitting on it right now.

Here is a pic of the heat duct ( also insulated ).

DSCF0027.jpg