Greenhorn question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Lugnutz are you talking about just plugging in your furnace blower fan to the generator ? OR are you talking about plugging your generator into the house electric outlet and backfeeding the whole house with the generator??

I refuse to comment on the electric wiring aspect of your posts, because i'm not a pro/certified electrician myself.

Good Luck with everything, hope you get it all figured out.

Just plugging the fan into the gen.

Been looking at double wall pipe, it can't hurt.

Question on the electrical, how is my plug in set up any different than running an extension cord out to the heater on my truck or all the guys that plug their deisel trucks in? Just curious.

DSCF0030.jpg

Since you asked, the cord is not permitted to be used for this installation at all. As you have it now the plug serves as a means of disconnect for the appliance. If you hard wire the unit you will need a means of disconnect within sight (50' or less).

The generator aspect is not an issue with your current setup. There are people who like to back feed the 30 amp, 240 volt dryer receptacle from the genny who unintentionally energize the conductors out on the pole. Highly illegal and not a very good idea.

DSCF0030.jpg

Since you asked, the cord is not permitted to be used for this installation at all. As you have it now the plug serves as a means of disconnect for the appliance. If you hard wire the unit you will need a means of disconnect within sight (50' or less).

The generator aspect is not an issue with your current setup. There are people who like to back feed the 30 amp, 240 volt dryer receptacle from the genny who unintentionally energize the conductors out on the pole. Highly illegal and not a very good idea.

Well..which cord is? This thing runs off of a 1/16th hp motor..about like a 100 watt light bulb.