Hard lessons learned by a newb chainsaw miller...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JohnWayne

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Well, I'm a complete noob when it comes to milling and the associated equipment. But, I have learned fast! The milling 101 sticky was a great help to start. I originally started by riving some walnut logs by hand that I bought. It follows suit with my tendency to perform all of my woodworking by hand. Then I got several logs offered to me for free, sooo... I needed a slightly more efficient way to break down the logs. Chainsaw it was, and it's been a learning experience ever since.

1) You never have enough wedges.... I made over 30 and have lost/broken about half of them in the saw dust.
2) DO NOT over tighten your u-bolts, cast metal will brittle fracture fairly easily...
3) DO NOT see-saw your way out of the end of the cut... it gets ugly.
4) all in in all, it's hard work, but it can be very rewarding.

Attachments

• photo 1.JPG
    photo 1.JPG
    53.2 KB · Views: 190
  • photo 2.JPG
    photo 2.JPG
    49.4 KB · Views: 201
  • photo 4.JPG
    photo 4.JPG
    94.1 KB · Views: 169
It's a great thing to make your own slabs. Where is the riven walnut! Would love to see how that stuff came out?

3) DO NOT see-saw your way out of the end of the cut... it gets ugly.

I wouldn't recommend see-sawing at any stage of a CSM cut. The mill/bar/chain only need to have a small amount of play and see-sawing will generate a series of diagonal ridges all the way down the log.
The best finish is obtained by not changing the angle of the bar to the centre line of the log all the way down the log. I know see-sawing appears faster but the few times I time this and compared it to straight cutting made no difference.