Hardy H4 OWB

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wayned24

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hello. First time poster here. Recently bought a home with a Hardy H4 OWB. Been running it for about 1 1/2 months (I think correctly). Water company called me Friday and said that my water usage went from 3,000 gallons/month to 11,000/month. I've noticed my burner is usually wet around the bottom, but I just always thought it was part of the process of heating with a boiler and the auto-fill feature. Do you guys think I have a leak that is causing me to use this much water? My low water light comes on almost every day, but I add literally about a gallon of water to it and it turns off. Like I said, I'm new to all of this so be gentle haha. Thanks!

Yes.

Wetness isn't part of the process. Either is a low water light coming on every day - shouldn't have to need any water the whole winter. Or maybe only once or twice - certainly not every day.

You mention auto-fill, but also adding a gallon a day - so you're manually adding water, aside from whatever the auto-fill is doing?

If you don't have a pipe or fitting leak, your boiler might be shot.

Thanks for the response. My water fill float is at the very top of my tank. I feel like if I lose any water at all it turns on. The tank is almost always full still though. I'll call the repairman and hopefully it isn't something major.

Another problem I'm having is that the air coming from my vents in my house isn't very warm? My auxiliary heat will kick on frequently, but I thought the point of the burner was for it to provide the heat. i live in SE Ohio..It's been down to about 20 degrees a couple nights this year, but nothing awful. Should be heat be warmer coming from my vents? There is a majorly noticeable difference between the heat from my burner and the aux. heat. Thanks again.