Help needed on refitting an old boiler, specifically I need an automatic damper.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrDan27611

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi guys, relatively new to the site. I'll give a hopefully quick background and get to my question.

Middle aged, married, 3 kids, in NC all my life, second generation on the family farm, moved into the big house 3 years ago next month and still getting things up to snuff. Tractors are my trade. I'm also a poorly functioning machinist, blacksmith, gunsmith, welder, pilot, woodworker, nerd.

Specifically to this site I am rehabbing a 20 year old OWB that was defunct in the house I'm in now. The original boiler was used for most of my childhood, burned in a fire and was replaced by the boiler that is there now. After about 1-2 seasons the new boiler was superseded by an LP boiler and never used again. Effectively it's 20 year old new, in place, and mostly plumbed. For a quick overview here is where we redid the underground lines.

Redoing the underground pipes on my wood boiler - YouTube

The system is one 500 gallon boiler with another 500 gallon storage tank located in the house for a total of 1000 gallons.

I'm already two months into the refit and currently have the system up and running heating about 4700 sq feet plus domestic hot water. I have added Johnson electronic controls, an electronic flue damper, and a induction blower.