Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

solar07

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello all,

I have used this forum for good reads for some time however, decided to finally join today. I finished building my pole barn a couple years back and chose wood/coal as my heating source. I got a great deal on a hotblast 1500 at rural king last year for black Friday so I snagged it. 800 bucks. From the reviews I've read on here it is far from perfect but I'm hoping it will do in my shop. I'm just getting into the insulation process however, projects have demanded use of my shop in the meantime. obviously it takes everything the hotblast has and then some to keep my 40x60 barn warm on a nice 15 degree Ohio day. I know once the insulation is done (still deciding on the how), heating the barn will be a completely different story.

I am looking forward to making this stove the best it can be. I think I've come to the right place. this is for shop use, stand alone, so not inecessarily a home or hooked up to a furnace of sorts. I just utilize the two blowers that come with the hotblast 1500 to push air into the two plenums of the stove. I have round duct of one that goes over to anot insulated wood shop and man cave section of the barn and another ducted into the main barn splitting off into a ceiling high register pointing downward. I haven't decided if this is the best setup yet. when in the main shop I end up detaching the wood shop man cave route and just elbowing that heat directly into the barn.