How Big?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chucknduck

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I'm just starting out a tree service, and was wondering how big of a town do you need to support a 3-5 man operation. I live in a town of about 14 thousand, with no tree services in that town, only in neighboring towns(35 miles away).

Build a reputation beyong reproach and those living 35 miles away will be calling. All you need is 1,000 new customers. Start advertising locally: newspapers, truck lettering and get out plenty of business cards. Post them at laundrymatts, stores ,bowling alleys & bars. Church bulletins are great. When you do get hired SHOW UP ON TIME , DO EXACTLY WHAT YOU AGREED TO DO, BE PREPARED TO GO THE EXTRA MILE , DON'T CUSS , BE CURTIOUS AND ABOVE ALL ELSE DO A GREAT CLEAN-UP. LAST BUT NOT LEAST GET THE CHECK !!!!!! GOOD LUCK TO YOU & YOURS.

P.S.- AFTER SOME CAREFUL CALCULATIONS & A 300 DAY A YEAR WORK SCHEDULE YOU NOW NEED MORE WORKERS IN ORDER TO GET 3 & 1/3
JOBS A DAY COMPLETED. ( I,000 NEW CUSTOMERS divided by 300 DAYS ):buttkick: :jawdrop: :givebeer:

OLD CHIPMUNK

Nicely put...

i have nothing else really to say...

but want to emphasise again

BEING ON TIME
Finished product - cleaning up

i think those two things...even as small as they are....they can make all the difference in a customer asking you to come back for A. more work B. passing on your number

I would say 200k is a decent years take. I made 143k my first year in business with my biz partner and myself. Economy turned south this year, I doubt we will even make that this year.

How much equipment do you have right now?...How much money do you have to purchase things you dont have?