Husky 394 & 5, any perf parts out there?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CanadianCarGuy

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I work as a faller and I use a husky 395 regularly, and recently a couple 394's that I built myself from the casings up. I ported a couple 395's before and this time I tried a bunch of new stuff with the 394's (they were free, so what the heck!). I use these 6.5 hours a day six days a week, sometimes seven.
Anyways, for these 394's I took 8grams off both the crankshaft counterweight and the piston, ported intake and exhaust (polished exhaust), ported the transfer ports, took out the head gasket, lightened the flywheel, advanced the timing, match ported the muffler and heat block to the head. I also tried a couple things that didn't work with the carbs, like filing down the venturi (not a good idea!). Now, I find myself wondering if there are any performance parts out there for the bigger husky's, like a big bore kit, a performance exhaust, can you re-jet the carb? Are there bigger ingnition coils or performance pistons for more compression?

Daniel

hey mate, pretty interesting stuff. i don't have any anwers, only questions.
where did you get 8grams off the piston? and did you have to take this of the counter weight to balance the saw? how did you lighten the fly wheel. would this be such a good idea on something so light i would have thought that a bit of fly wheel weight would have been good.

any pics you have would be great and techniques you used.

cheers from a newb

serg

The short answer is NO. But that is what makes hot roding saws so much fun. The only real "hop it up" after market stuff you can get for any saw are bigbore kits (none for 394's and 395's), other than that you are just on your own.