Husqvarna 55 farm tough - need chain recommendations - catching hell

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Greasycat

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
To start thanks in advance for any responses.

Newbie here. Want recommendations on the best....fastest chain for dead pine from bark beetle. Catching crap from my elk hunting partners for my husqvarna...they all been bringing a stihls. I had been cutting holes in the pond for duck hunting the last 10 years without switching chains, just don't cut wood much anymore...but I brought my saw to hunting camp last year for the heck of it and all got was crap.....time to go high octane with new chain. Need advise on new chain for the saw. I don't know much about chains.

The saw I have is a Husqvarna 55 farm tough. I've had it for years, maybe 15 or more. I purchased it when a twister hit my farmstead and took down 15 of 16 big trees. It took me several months to get things cleaned up. The trees were 30-40 year old elm, walnut and locust. The saw did great and got the job done. I've never had a problem with it. I think I still have the same chain on it.

My equipment is good, engine purrs....just need a new chain to take to Elk Camp in a couple weeks. My saw is easily comparable with theirs saws, but my chain was really dull and would keep up but not necessarily beat there saws.

I need this chain to stay sharp for 1/2 day of cutting dead pine. Looking for the fastest one that might work on this saw.....strictly for the ..."no comment bragging right around the camp fire"....let there be no doubt. Pretty sure mine is an 18 inch bar.

Much appreciated!