Installing New Piston

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pdqford

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi everyone. Great list!

I'm planning on replacing the piston on a 056 AV Magnum II (and I haven't located a manual yet).

Background:

The old piston broke the skirt off one side. It broke at the lower ring land. The owner said he mixed up five gallons of fuel, dumping the oil in and not thoroughly mixing the oil and gas. Saw ran a few minutes and locked up. Tight! I'm guessing (I'm new to saw internals) the piston started to seize on the upward stroke at the lower ring under load and the momentum of the crank weights and rod pushed the piston up and caused the skirt to be pulled off the piston. I can't find any marks in the bore and it appears to be chrome plated.

My Questions:

1. Installing a new piston, pin, and rings - I'm assuming that the bore should be honed to assist the new rings in seating, but is this true for a chrome bore?

2. Does the piston have to be installed with a particular orientation? Like, is the wrist pin location in the piston offset?

3. I see the old rings had the numbers on them facing the top of the piston. But do the ring gaps need to be placed in a particular location?

Thanks in advance for any and all replies . . . . . . .

Hi everyone. Great list!

I'm planning on replacing the piston on a 056 AV Magnum II (and I haven't located a manual yet).

Background: