Insulated flex Liner

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrdinks

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
This is meant to help others while debating a new flue liner installation. I spent hours researching and reading before my upgrade and found a lot of people had similar questions. These are my findings at my home,
I am not an expert and do not claim to be one.

About 4 years ago I decided I wanted to add an insert in my fireplace. I live in a one story ranch built in 1959 that has a large central fireplace. It starts in the basement with block and goes up through the roof with a large open fireplace in the living room. The chimney contains a double flue, the other used to vent a boiler in the basement.
A friend of mine owns a hardware store and started selling fireplaces. He had an insert that was ordered and cancelled and been sitting for a year so he made me a nice deal to take it. My flue is 13 x 13 clay lined and needed a liner. He had a very heavy stainless flex liner that was 15' long and after some rough calculating we decided it would work. I asked about insulation and his thoughts were the fireplace is centrally located and should stay warm and not need to be insulated.
I removed the damper and did some cutting to enlarge the hole and went to the roof. It was cold and I was in a hurry and just wanted to be done. I slid the liner down the flue and realized my opening at the damper was snug and there was no way I was making the bends needed to get to the stove. Well an elbow and cussing we got that part done. Back to the roof and the liner was a foot short of clearing the top. solution was to add a section of single wall round to the flex and extend above the brick and end up with about 18 foot of liner (manufacturer called for 12' min).