Insulation around pump motors?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oneoldbanjo

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I have a Woodmaster furnace and it is open on the bottom of the rear access panel where the pumps are located. The back of the boiler is insulated in this area - but the pump area is not completely enclosed and air can get underneath the access panel. I suppose the area is about a foot deep and as wide as the furnace. I felt that this was done to allow air to get to the pump motors and provide some cooling for them.

This morning I was on Youtube for a bit and saw some videos for a Free Heat Machine and the plumbing and pump was completely covered with insulation.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HK5UtmObxyw

Does anyone have any experience with this? Can the pumps be covered and still remain cool enough to have a durable lifespan - or will they overheat and shorten the operational life? It would be nice to insulate that area and keep some of the heat from escaping - but not if I need to replace pumps prematurely!

I look at it this way on my Woodmaster: The firebox is insulated from the pump by fiberglass, so any air blowing in there is not getting to the water jacket. Also I know whether I insulate that little area around the pump or not, the stove still will have to be loaded twice a day. I would rather get another year or two out of my pump than potentially save 10 logs over the life of the pump. That pump is already at 170 degrees from the water running through it, so I let it stay as cool as possible

One thing you can do if you want is to spray foam the pex lines running to your two valves on the back of the boiler.

my central boiler dealer had me to put regular bat insulation eveywhere but on the motor itself.the only thing you can see is the motor housing sticking out.

Pex