Jameson Pole?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tree md

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I went and bought all the parts for a new polesaw today. I had been using a Hayauchi for the past three years but I have gone through three of them by tearing them up and we either left the last one on a job or someone picked it up off the truck. Anyway, I had been using a Jameson polesaw for the past couple of months that a buddy had loaned me. I finally got it back to him and went and bought myself the same saw. Not as light as the hayauchi but definitely more solidly built and for half the price I am really digging it. Got a nice, stiff Fanno blade for it that is aggressive as the hayauchi as well.

My question is what is the difference in the green poles and the yellow. Besides price I mean. I was going to buy the yellow pole sections as that is the only type I have ever used but they only had one 6' section so I went ahead and bought the green sections. Wasn't too hard of a decision to make as the green poles are about $8 cheaper. The guy at Vermeer said that the yellow poles are just a little more solid but the green ones are lighter. Lighter sounded better to me. Is there any major difference in these poles?

Also, A friend was telling me that if you buy one section of solid core and use it as a base pole you will be insulated (as far as a house drop anyway). Is this correct? You only need one section of solid core?

I'm not planning on getting my pole saw into a line but I would seriously consider buying a section of solid core if it would make things a little safer for me and my guys.

Howdy, The green poles are a thinner wall than the yellow ones and are a little stiffer. The core filled ones are a little stiffer still and I use all core filled when around lines of any kind. I even have a fiberglass "fuse" on a pruner head when near lines. :)