Looking for a Budget Wood Chipper

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wyatt183728

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Ive been cutting firewood for a few years now, and ive accumulated my fair share of brush and branches. I would like to have a small wood chipper (preferably under $2000) that I could tow behind the fourwheeler to chip some brush. I cut up anything over 2-3" diameter, so I dont need a 5-6" chipping campacity. Ive seen the DR 11.5 chipper and like what I see. Can anyone give me some advice or point me in the right direction? Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

From the need you are describing the chipper you are looking at will be inadequate. I have an 8hp troybilt from back when troybilt was a tool worth having. For any significant amount of brush it is just too slow. I can't imagine a few more HP will make that much difference. The small chippers are really made for someone with a small yard that wants to chip up a few branches here and there.

If it doesn't have a feed mechanism you are looking at hours of frustration. Burning the brush will be about 10x faster. Without the feed mechanism you have to hold the brush back or the chipper pulls it in too fast and clogs up. Alternately you can chuck one small branch at a time.

If you really want a chipper, I think one of the PTO chippers with infeed can be had for close to your price range. If you have a tractor that's the way to go. I believe any self powered, self feeding machine would be a disappointment.

http://www.woodmaxx.com/WM_8M_Mechanical_PTO_Wood_Chipper_p/wm-8m.htm

I'm running a PTO chipper that I have to feed and even that is very slow. I'm only pushing it with a 20hp tractor and it's much more efficient than a DR chipper I used once. You might consider renting a commercial unit and chip everything in short order.

For that size material,