Milling bar for Jonsered 920

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hbohnet

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm new to milling and milled my first log the other day using a recently aquired J 920. It was impressive but now realize I need a longer bar to fit my 30" Alaskan mill. These bars aren't very common but managed to find a 30" Carlton hard tip in .063 for cheap. Can anyone give me a comment on this bar for milling? Thanks.

I'm new to milling and milled my first log the other day using a recently aquired J 920. It was impressive but now realize I need a longer bar to fit my 30" Alaskan mill. These bars aren't very common but managed to find a 30" Carlton hard tip in .063 for cheap. Can anyone give me a comment on this bar for milling? Thanks.
A 30" bar is not very long and a hard nose is less desirable.

To get the most out of your 30" mill, look for a 36" bar with sprocket nose.

Thanks for the reply Mtngun. A couple of more questions/recommendations:

A 36" bar will fit a 30" mill? (I like the sound of that)
.050, .058 or .063 guage?
Skip or full comp chain?

I plan on milling mostly cedar and doug fir.
Thanks.

Yes, a 36" bar will fit a 30" mill perfectly. The bar should be about 4" - 6" longer than the mill to utilize all the mill's capacity.

Full comp leaves a smoother cut, all other things equal.

No right or wrong answer to gage. I favor 0.050" because it gives me the option of running lo-pro chain (if special sprockets are used). Other than that, it doesn't make much difference.

hbohnet, did you ever end up finding a suitable 36" bar and if so, do you mind sharing what you ended up buying ?