Milling the plan or not?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Huskybill

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
i have a few husky 2100’s. I have two large ash trees the ash bore got too. I’m not sure what lumber mill I want or need. Do I need twin power heads? I’m thinking a 50” to 60” bar. Should I purchase a mill or build one? I have plenty of steel sitting here. I have no experience at milling.
I plan on hiring someone to drop the trees in my lot. There too close to houses and power lines. Then I plan on milling them. What are your thoughts.?

I’d like to make a new kitchen set and living room furniture from the wood.

i have a few husky 2100’s. I have two large ash trees the ash bore got too. I’m not sure what lumber mill I want or need. Do I need twin power heads? I’m thinking a 50” to 60” bar. Should I purchase a mill or build one? I have plenty of steel sitting here. I have no experience at milling.
I plan on hiring someone to drop the trees in my lot. There too close to houses and power lines. Then I plan on milling them. What are your thoughts.?

I’d like to make a new kitchen set and living room furniture from the wood.
2 1/2 years ago I was gifted a healthy ash log. My avatar shows the last slice off the stump. Log was just a few over 7 feet x 38" diameter. With a 42" bar in an Alaskan milling frame we got 14 slices of varying thickness. I used a section off extension ladder for a guide rail set up. A Ms-460 was used.20190506_125814.jpg