Milling wood stakes

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1CallLandscape

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
hey guys, im just getting into milling ( with a mill ) i am starting a winter business of milling wood stakes for local construction companys. has anybody built a mill to make these in one pass over a log??

i was thinking of making a simple homemade bandsaw with another saw blade set up that passes in front of the band blade. The other blaldes would be comprised of multiple 10" ripping table saw blades spaced out 1" to match the other dimension and they would be hydraulically driven. Good idea??? the stakes i want to cut are 1" x 24-48" mainly oak and pine.

has anybody ever built such a machine? im open to all suggestions. what about sharpening them does any boudy make just the sharpener bit without the while drive machine?

All stake makers that I know of slice a log on a regular saw, cut them to the length of the stake needed then put the resulting board through a gang rip to create "noodles". The standard rule of thumb is that it takes 5 hp. per rip blade to cut hardwood so doing it on the saw would require some serious hp. The reason they are cut to length before ripping is because a stake cannot have any knots or other defects in it or it will break while being driven in. Cutting to length allows you to cut around major defects. Trying to cut stakes in one pass over the log won't allow you to defect out weak spots so you would probably waste more lumber in reject stakes than the savings in time would be worth.