MS 250 Mods ?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kelsey

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
First off, hi everyone.
I work as a line clearance foreman in Salt Lake City. I plan on buying a brand new Stihl MS 250 as a personal climbing saw. What I want to do is get extra power out of it. What can be done to mod these saws? Any ideas? Thanks

Can't you do the same kind of things that you do to the 066 like port and polish, get more air/fuel to the cylinder, ect? I'm not to worried about experimenting and possibly damaging the saw. I just want to make a hobby out of it. Make it one mean mother. File the rakers of all the way:angry: j/k

there are a couple of things to do to that saw but it doesn't have the potential of a 346xp or ms260 for porting. Or a 660 for that matter

I when I needed a saw again I bought a 025 it is about 5 years old now and still has the paint on the original bar! It has been a terrific saw, it has impressive power for 45cc and it is as reliable as the sun. People will tell you the antivibe system is crap but the bottom line is it is quite smooth in my hands. Now I am moving on and will probably sell off my 025 in the near future because I have more saws than appendages and hopping up saws has turned into quite a hobby for me.

Buck

so what kind of things can you do for a MS 250. I'm very loyal to Stihl and a 25 is as heavy as I want to go for a climb saw.

kelsey said:
so what kind of things can you do for a MS 250. I'm very loyal to Stihl and a 25 is as heavy as I want to go for a climb saw.
Nothing wrong with wanting to stay with Stihl. However you might want to consider a MS260 or MS260 Pro. They're only about a half a pound heavier then the MS250. They make a little more power to begin with. Plus they're pro saws. The MS260's will probably last quite a bit longer then the MS250, especially with heavy use.

NYH1 said: