Need Advice Please for Pex Connections

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Johnny Yooper

Johnny Yooper

ArboristSite Operative
I have an OWB with a 135' run of Wirsbo Pex inside 4" insulated pipe ripped out and replacing with Thermopex (long story), it will connect to 1" copper pipe once inside the house. Previous connections were made by plumber using the expansion method; based on my reading, that appears to be a top notch connection method, not one drip or slightest sign of issues in nine heating seasons. I'm doing these connections myself and will purchase the tools now to do this job as any future plumbing work I'll probably use Pex even though I've been sweating copper for 30 years. So, the question is: what Pex connection method to use....expansion, cinching, or crimping? I normally don't go with the cheapest tool out there especially if it's something that will get a lot of use, which this will as I'll be doing more plumbing with Pex and less with copper as time goes on. So, what do you guys use for connecting the 1" Thermopex lines? Thanks in advance for your insight.

AIM

Addicted to ArboristSite
I'm not sure you can use the expansion method on thermopex. Wirsbro pex I thought was the only one that used that method. I thought all others were cinch or crimp.
Someone with more knowledge on the matter will be of more help though.

stihl sawing
I use these, they are simple to put on and will not leak, thay are cheaper than sharkbite too. Just replaced a bunch of joints with them. The old ones were compressed fitted. You can find them at RV stores and Hardware places. Lowes or home depot don't have them.

attachment.php

Iska3

Iska3

Addicted to ArboristSite
Last edited:
Guswhit

Guswhit

ArboristSite Guru