need advise on cs setup

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jn452

Reaction score
I am new to the site and would like some advise on a proper setup for chainsaw milling. I recently bought 30 acres to build a house on and as I am a builder I intend to clear the land and build the house myself. When I started I had a ms 290, 026, and a 034 and simply started to cut down the trees. However pretty soon I decided that instead of burning or selling the timber, all pines, I would mill some of it. I purchased an Alaskan saw mill and sold my ms 290 because it was too small and way to heavy. The 034 is my dads and i wanted to buy my own saw big enough to cut down and buck trees. I bought a 038 on ebay that runs but only has 90 psi and is very well used. I am now thinking that this saw is not the right one for my needs and that I should sell it and buy a 044. How good is a 038 and is it possible to convert it over to a 038 magnum. The milling part i think i am good i bought a 056 Magnum 2 and all the parts I need to fix the common spark issue. Thanks for your help and Ideas.

That 056 Mag will suit you just fine for milling all but the biggest of trees. The 038 should be fairly easy to convert to a Mag too, I think with just a piston and cylinder, but I'm not entirely sure if there are any other parts needed too. Just search for "038 magnum conversion" and a few relevant threads come up, one of which is currently still active. If you did get it converted to a Mag, it would be very usable for smaller milling applications - possibly as a dedicated saw on a Mini-Mill to use for edging and squaring logs. Also, an 038 Mag has a bigger displacement than a stock 044, so as long as the rest of the saw's in good shape and it only needs a piston and cylinder, that would be the cheapest way to go.